Rockville Criminal Defense Attorney - Patrick J Smith & Associates

301-294-0250


Free Consultations and Reasonable Flat Fees

Driving While Suspended Maryland Defense Attorney

Traffic violations can be accompanied by penalties, fines and strict loss of driving privileges. In every state across America it is illegal to drive while your driver’s license is suspended. In many cases, we find that our clients were unaware that their license had been suspended in the first place.  This can happen due to failure to renew or pay a traffic ticket, accumulating too many points, or a DUI/DWI conviction. For any traffic violations or driving with a suspended license, contact the top defense attorneys that divers trust most in Rockville, Patrick J. Smith & Associates.

Common Reasons of a Suspended License

  • Driving under the influence

  • Failure to appear in court for traffic violations

  • Failure to pay a traffic ticket in Maryland or an out-of-state ticket

  • Too many accumulated points on your license

  • Failure to pay fees resulting from vehicle accident litigation

Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License

Driving with a suspended license carries a potential 60-day or one year jail sentence and a fine up to $1000. Multiple offenses can easily result in conviction and jail time if the case is not handled by an experienced Rockville traffic attorney. We represent people in hearings before the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) to restore driver’s licenses and reduce harsh penalties.

Penalties resulting in a suspended license also include:

  • Additional license suspension period

  • Significant fines

  • Additional points on your license

  • Increase in insurance rates

  • Jail sentence

Two Forms of License Suspension from

Points Suspension

If a driver accumulates 8 to 11 points through traffic violations or any violation not related to drugs and alcohol, the license will be suspended. You will receive a notice of suspension effective on a specific date, unless you take action. There are instructions on the bottom of the notice of suspension telling you what you need to do to request a hearing, including payment of a fee. This must be done within 10 days of the date of the notice, which usually means two or three days have passed already, by the time you receive it. If you request a hearing in a timely manner, the suspension will be held in abeyance and you can continue to drive until the hearing.

If you do not request a hearing, the suspension will be in place as of this specific date in the notice. However, if the suspension is for 60 days, that time is not calculated until the MVA has received your license. It is extremely important to your case to contact a criminal defense attorney as soon as you receive a suspension notice.

At the MVA hearing, we can usually obtain a restricted license for employment, medical, and education purposes, for the length of the suspension. In a lot of cases, we can get a shorter period of suspension than the MVA is looking to impose.

Standard Suspension

This suspension is similar to the point’s suspension, but one of the infractions added includes drugs or alcohol related penalties while driving. In addition, a driver can also receive a standard suspension, if you fail to pay traffic fines or falsify information on your driver’s license. You will receive a notice of suspension in the mail; give us a call for further instructions on requesting a hearing as soon as possible.

Revocation

If you accumulate 12 or more points on your license, you are going to receive a notice of revocation audio license effective on a specific date. Once again, you need to request a hearing within 10 days and pay the required fee in order to keep driving beyond that specific date, until a hearing and MVA. A conviction for DWI will give you 8 points. A conviction for DUI will give you 12 points.

Add a revocation hearing, if alcohol was involved, we can keep you driving by participation in the interlock program. This is a program that requires the installation of equipment that will measure your blood alcohol level before you can start the vehicle. If you do not request a hearing and you are revoked, you will not be reinstated for at least one year, usually longer.

Protecting Your Driving Privileges

If your driver’s license has been suspended or revoked or if you have been charged with driving with a suspended license, Rockville’s top criminal defense attorney can help build a case on your behalf.  We provide free consultations are and reasonable flat rates for every case. To protect your driving privileges, contact our Rockville suspended license attorney at (301) 294-0250, we are here to help you build your case.